Sign in to follow this  
lydon71

New smell

I have been using E85 for about 4 years now and it has always had a somewhat whiskeyish smell to it. Last night I filled up at a Kroger and the E85 had a rotten gin type smell to it.

Does anyone have any idea why this would be?

Could the E85 possibly have gone bad? I know gas does if it sits long enough so I guess that is possible for E85 as well, although my van is running just fine on it.

Could it be that the E85 I pumped last night was made from something other than corn?

I always thought the smell of e85 upon starting up the car was best described as an "Elmer's Glue" type smell...  Love that smell... good conversation starter whe people are around and you are starting your car.

I call it the "smell of energy independence"... ;D

Sorry to get off topic... no ideas what would cause the off smell...

Awhile back, one of the stations I frequent changed their formulation slightly.

I could swear I caught a whiff of MTBE, a very distinctive smell; one you don't forget.

Anyone out there ever sample the fuel they're sticking in their tank?

I've caught a funny smell a couple of times... once I pulled into a station and for one reason or another all the E85 pumps were blocked except the one in the back of the lot.  That fuel had an 'off' smell.  Got to thinking...probably the pumps at the front see the most use, nobody would drive all the way to the back 'just for fun', so it might have been setting in the pump/hose/pipes the longest.

The other was at a high price/low margin station - I was just trying to get a few gallons to make it to a good margin station (save my 30 cents/gallon).  At the price, they probably just didn't sell much E85 at all...so again, sitting in the pipes.