Sign in to follow this  
joe

well now anybody doing a convertion on a 08 HONDA FIT

I'm a newbie hello everbody, I've been reading the book called alcohol can be a gas. anybody read this one?  Anyway this is a gas station on state or ridge road in parma, Ohio. That sells e85, its about 40cents cheaper then regular gas, I've been thinking that when I pay off the fit which is at the end of the year. After the party I was thinking of converting it so it can also run on e85.  we got anyone doing this to a car like this. I must say my fit is as slow as a old 69 beetle, but it works. But I also don't like sending 700 to 800 billion to the oil companies anymore. I would like that money to stay in our communities where it belongs anyway. anybody got a mechanic in the Cleveland area that does the convertion, even though from what I've been reading I might be able to pull it off myself. ;D ;D

Convert it yourself. I'm sure Johnny will pop in here soon.  ;D

With a 40 cent spread, you're not going to make money with e85, but you probably could with e30, which doesn't require a conversion. Also, if you have to pay for a conversion AND pay someone to do it, it's going to take even longer for a payback.

My conversion takes 3 minutes to remove and 5 to install. I've seen movies of 10 y.o. kids installing them. Trust me, unless you have an engine that requires a manifold removal, you can do it yourself.

For starters, if you don't have a blender pump at your station, I'd try splash blending:

1 part e85 and 2 parts of e10 will get you e35

1 part e85 and 3 parts of e10 will get you e29

Find out what your tank size is and go here: http://www.intercepteft.com/calc.html

Then you can slowly increase the amount of e85 to figure out where your max is. For many vehicles, that's often between e40 and e80. My Toyota loved e60 and maxed out at e81. My Ford threw a CEL at e45.