Sign in to follow this  
HuskerFlex

lean burn on e85...

OK, I've been thinking about this for a while, and since Oberbort brought it up on the EToM query...

if "running lean" means you are using less fuel in your fuel:air ratio... this means you would be increasing efficiency...

you can't run too lean, or you will be running your engine too hot, and will do serious damage, and emissions will be worse...

BUT if ethanol burns cooler and burns cleaner... would it stand to reason that you could run leaner on e85 then you could on e0 (regular gas), with out running any hotter or emitting any more pollution?

Does my logic make any sense?

I was wondering if the on-board diagnostic computer/sensors would agree to this, or if you would have to change them somehow....  ( :-[i'm a complete novice at this, just got me thinking...)

OK, I've been thinking about this for a while, and since Oberbort brought it up on the EToM query...

if "running lean" means you are using less fuel in your fuel:air ratio... this means you would be increasing efficiency...

you can't run too lean, or you will be running your engine too hot, and will do serious damage, and emissions will be worse...

BUT if ethanol burns cooler and burns cleaner... would it stand to reason that you could run leaner on e85 then you could on e0 (regular gas), with out running any hotter or emitting any more pollution?

Does my logic make any sense?

I was wondering if the on-board diagnostic computer/sensors would agree to this, or if you would have to change them somehow....  ( :-[i'm a complete novice at this, just got me thinking...)

Yes you can run leaner..to a point of course..this is why you see home conversion to E85 getting better MPG than Production Model FFV's..