Sign in to follow this  
cessna

10% ethanol in old boat

My sister just moved back to Virginia where we were raised along the Chesapeake Bay. They have an older Boston Whaler that must have a fiberglass gas tank and she said my brother-in-law is in the process of draining 40 gallons of gas mixed with oil out. I guess they have been using it for a couple of months and suddenly it started smoking and running bad. She says everybody back there says ethanol is wrecking their fiberglass tanks and sending particles of fiberglass to the filter causing plugging. Do you guys think that 10% ethanol is really the culprit--any ideas?

I was hoping 10% wasn't a strong enough blend to do damage. I have been mixing Lawnboy 2 stroke oil with 10% for over 10 years and the mower still works fine but I have no experience with fiberglass boat tanks.

Cessna- there were multiple types of resins used in fiberglass-- unfortunately sometimes the ones selected for boats are reported to leach. Modern fiberglass tanks used in the fuel industry use a better resin and are more durable than even steel -- even with E85 in them. Tell them to look for phase separation and put some in a glass jar looking for clarity, sludge, particles. Have them carefully cut open the filter and pull out the filtration media for a look.

Remember too that older engines had more electronic issues than fuel.

Just for some clarity:

I have not noticed any problems with E10 / 2-stroke mix on it's own.  Been using it for weed eaters, chain saws, leaf blowers, jet skis, etc.  Of course, all have polyethylene tanks which are completely fine with all EXX blends.

As I understand it, even E10 is enough to cause problems with some fiberglass tanks.  It can be very hit/miss, though...depending on what resin was used when the tank was made, how well/what proportions it was mixed, how well the tank was laminated, etc.