Sign in to follow this  
Steve-O

Marvel Mystery Oil

I know there are a million people on this board who know alot about internal combustion engines and ethanol, so I am afraid this question may sound kind of lame.  I am no engineer or technician, just someone who likes to run as much as i can in my (non FFV) cars, so I use what I can by pumping in only E20 which I have access  to, and occasionally adding a little E85 to it. I doubt I ever go over E 30.

I have know idea where this question would best be asked on this forum, so I'll ask it here.

So, is it my imagination, or am I getting better mileage adding exactly 6oz of Marvel Mystery Oil to each of my about 15 gallon tanks at each fill up? I haven't calculated it, and have rarely used additives prior, but it seems that I am doing about 3 mpg better (only on straight highway driving that is) by adding this stuff to my fuel mix which is best guess on average about E23.

I have been putting this in both vehickes since May 1st and have taken one trip with each since where I was on the hwy for more than a full tank. Upon refill (my simple calculations are math in my head looking at the trip odo. and the receipt LOL) the mileage in these cases seemed a little better. Maybe I just had favorable winds those days.

Of course, the marvel's website says it works great with ethanol up to E85. Any opinions on the benefit of using this as I continue to use higher ethanol percentages?

Steve-O,

I have seen more than a few add Marvel to E85 while filling non-ffv's. No idea if it works. As Rusty says- track it over many replicated trials with many controls (no Marvel). Methanol racers have used caster oil and airplane version of E85 contains a small amount of soy methyl ester- neither of these apps usually involve an O2 sensor.

Just one caution- too much could leave deposits in E20-E30 blends. Remember that fuel specifications for gasoline tightly control endpoints which are mostly oils- this prevents smoke, deposits, etc.