Sign in to follow this  
zucccchini

Software or Kit

I have a 2004 GMC Canyon 5 cylinder pickup.  I did some research and found a good kit,,I think.  I AM NOT A MECHANIC.  So took my idea to my mechanic Unfortunately, he informs me, its an In-line 5 cylinder and everything has to come out of there to get this kit in there.  The cost will be well into a $1000 with labor and a $424 kit ???  Sooooo...I simply cannot afford that right now.  I have been reading the forums and noticed the mention of "on-board computer, software"...my question now is can a person purchase the software to apply, update or revise the on-board computer to accept the E85? and adjust for it.  I mistakenly called the local GMC dealer thinking he would surely know more than I and he just about had a heart attack.  He insisted that my truck simply was not designed to run on E85 and I just could not get there from here.  I did not argue  :D  What say any of you?  Is there software I can upload instead of a kit?  Just examining my options. 

Even we wish it was that easy to just upload a new flash to your car's computer. Automakers make that difficult on purpose to protect their investments. In theory a user supported or open sourced ECU sounds like a good idea. But, it would be a nightmare to diagnose for most mechanics since they don't write computer code.

If your kit is designed for your make and model of vehicle then you should be ok. Most kits operate for 4, 6, or 8 cylinders, though. I've never heard of one for a 5 cylinder to be honest. Most kits have power & ground wires and additional wires to each fuel injector. They're about as complicated as a new stereo to install--if that stereo is made for your vehicle then they plug right in with little hassle.

Intermediate blends work for the rest of us, too.